Founded in 1991 and located in the Kinburn House surrounded by Kinburn Park, the St. Andrews Museum houses around 100,000 objects held by Fife Council Museums. The museum currently displays only a fraction of these objects in its A-Z exhibition of St. Andrews history and culture at the ground floor gallery. In the first floor gallery, the museum holds temporary displays. Visitors can also enjoy a cup of tea at the café adjacent to Kinburn Park.
Kinburn House was designed by architect John Milne for Dr. David Buddo, a St. Andrews resident who retired from the Indian Medical Service. Dr. Buddo named the Victorian era house after the 1855 Battle of Kinburn in the Crimean War. In 1872, the Kinburn House became the home of the Provost of the burgh, John Patterson. In 1920, St. Andrews Town Council acquired the house and used it for various functions over the decades including as the Hay Flemming Library and a telephone exchange during WWII.
For opening hours and information on which exhibits are currently at St. Andrews Museum visit https://www.onfife.com/venues/st-andrews-museum/
Display on Kinburn House in the Musuem’s A-Z of St. Andrews exhibit.